Lalys Pharmacy Celebrates Double Win

Lalys Pharmacy team with awards

An independent Portsmouth pharmacy has been praised by judges at this year’s Community Pharmacy South Central Awards after winning two of the five categories for the second year in a row.

Staff at Lalys Pharmacy are celebrating the success of two of their colleagues at the annual CPSC awards. Efthymios ‘Timmy’ Mastoropoulos and Lynsey O’Connell were named ‘Best Community Pharmacist’ and ‘Community Pharmacy Team Member of the Year’ respectively at a glittering reception at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel in Southampton.

The annual event, which celebrates outstanding professional performance in community pharmacy across Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, was founded to formally recognise the positive contribution that pharmacies make to improve the health and wellness of patients, relieving pressure on the NHS for primary healthcare.

Pharmacist Timmy Mastoropoulos was recognised by the judges for his determination, enthusiasm and teamwork in the implementation of both a ‘Travel Clinic’ and online ‘GP Service’ that serves both local people and international students in Portsmouth’s city centre.

‘We constantly receive excellent feedback about Timmy,’ says Mr Baldev Laly, founder and Director of Lalys Pharmacy.  ‘He takes the time to carefully listen to customers in order to give effective advice and has a compassionate, caring manner that always puts people at ease.’

Lynsey O’Connell was also praised by judges for her commitment to customers and patients in the community, especially the elderly. When one of Lalys Pharmacy’s regular customers turned 100 years old, she organised a surprise party at the pharmacy’s coffee shop in Kingston Road. Her positive, friendly nature when working with customers and staff has even featured in online reviews.

‘Lynsey has been with us for six years, and has become ‘the beating heart’ of Lalys Pharmacy, so I could not think of anyone more deserving for this award,’ said Mr Laly. ‘We are all so happy for and proud of her.’

‘Last year, our Lead Pharmacist, Penny Masters, and store assistant Ewa Piwowarczyk walked away with the same awards, so we were surprised, delighted and then very proud to have maintained both our standards and winning record at the CPSC Awards this year.’